8.10 release, distrowatch

30Oct08

The latest release of Ubuntu, 8.10, has just come out. The list of new features seems to be quite modest; it’s mostly upgrades to the newest upstream packages and some small tweaks like an encrypted personal folder and guest sessions. I am tempted to try it out, but I don’t need any more upcoming distractions! I haven’t touched the desktop in at least a month now–it has Sidux on it–so when exams are over and some more bugs in 8.10 have been found and fixed, I might install Ubuntu on it again.

That’s if the cd drive is still capable, though; I suspect it’s on its last legs. The last couple of burns I did on it were of questionable quality, and it is making an awful lot of noise during reading. Oh well. I don’t really like using it anymore, because I have discovered the joy of having a laptop and being able to easily relocate it. 😀

Been too busy in real life to write here much, although I have been keeping up with Linux news every day. The distrowatch comments area is rife with KDE defenders and critics after the Distrowatch Weekly slammed KDE’s usability. I tend to agree that KDE hasn’t caught up to where it used to be in the 3.x series, but the article felt like it was dredging up old news specifically to have something to say regardless of its newsworthiness. I prefer Gnome/GTK to KDE/Qt; the latter seems to have a more restrictive range of software, though truth be told some of them are said to be better than their GTK equivalents (Rhythmbox vs. Amarok, Brasero vs. K3b, to name two typical examples). Not to mention I’ve spent a considerable amount of time trying to learn how to program in GTK already.

So that’s it for my mostly worthless blog post today.

