Be a part of the community!

28Dec09

I’m installing the S60 SDK for Symbian and it is annoying me.

When I click on the download link, it asks me to join Forum Nokia. I do not remember doing this the first time I downloaded the SDK; a quick search of my email inbox reveals I have no account confirmation emails from them. This must mean it is a relatively new change they’ve implemented, and I don’t see much point in it. The registration form has spaces for address, city, postcode, phone numbers… but I am so turned off with Nokia I won’t bother giving anything. It’s not like they need it for anything, do they? Or perhaps this is how Nokia plans to induce bonding amongst developers to an Apple-like fervor.

If I really liked the community that much I would make an account to post on the forums. Nobody likes being forced.

